One South 6th Ave., St. Charles, IL 60174
9am - 9pm9am - 8pm9am - 5pm12pm - 5pm
9am - 9pm9am - 8pm9am - 5pm12pm - 5pm

You are here

Featured Author: Dean Koontz

Nationally recognized for horror and psychological suspense novels, Dean Koontz has been a dedicated writer since winning a competition his senior year of college. Koontz’s books have been published in 38 languages and have sold over 450 million copies to date. Koontz has had 14 books at the top of The New York Times Best Seller List in hardcover, making him one of only a dozen writers to achieve this milestone. Several of Koontz’s books have been released as movies, both on the big and small screens.

The New York Times has called his writing “psychologically complex, masterly and satisfying.” The New Orleans Times-Picayune said Koontz is, “at times lyrical without ever being naive or romantic. [He creates] a grotesque world, much like that of Flannery O’Conner or Walker Percy . . . scary, worthwhile reading.” Rolling Stone has hailed him as “America’s most popular suspense novelist.”

Born and raised in Pennsylvania, Koontz graduated from Shippensburg State College with a degree in counseling and social work. Following an attempt to work with Appalachian children in need, Koontz decided to make his career as a writer, often writing nights and weekends to pursue his dream. Dean Koontz now lives in Southern California with his wife, Gerda, and their golden retriever. 


Mr. Murder (1993)

Dragon Tears (1993)

Demon Seed (1997)

One Door Away from Heaven (2001)

Strangers (2002)

Velocity (2005)

The Husband (2006)

Watchers (2008)

Your Heart Belongs to Me (2008)

What Night Knows (2010)

The Key to Midnight (2010)

77 Shadow Street (2011)

The Eyes of Darkness (2011)

Dark Rivers of the Heart (2012)

Cold Fire (2012)

Intensity (2012)

Innocence (2014)

The City (2014)

Ashley Bell (2015)

Odd Thomas Series

Odd Thomas (2003)

Forever Odd (2005)

Brother Odd (2006)

Odd Hours (2008)

Odd Apocalypse (2012)

Deeply Odd (2013)

Saint Odd (2015)

Jane Hawk Series

The Silent Corner (2017)

The Whispering Room (2018)

Frankenstein Series

Prodigal Son (2005)

City of Night (2005)

Dead and Alive (2009)

Lost Souls (2010)

The Dead Town (2011)

Chris Snow Books

Fear Nothing (1998)

Seize the Night (1999)


DK 10/2017