One South Sixth Ave. St. Charles, IL. 60174
9am - 9pm9am - 8pm9am - 5pm12pm - 5pm
9am - 9pm9am - 8pm9am - 5pm12pm - 5pm

You are here

Board of Trustees

Get Involved in Your Community!

Four St. Charles Public Library Board Seats are Up for Election in 2019

Elected members to the Library’s Board of Trustees have the exciting opportunity to help shape the future of the St. Charles Public Library and guide it into the next generation. Board members will set the tax levy, budget, policies, and oversee the planning and execution of a potential renovation project estimated at $13.6 million.

The library has four open Trustee seats in the upcoming 2019 Consolidated Election to be held on April 2, 2019. Two seats are for a regular term which goes from June 2019 – May 2025 (six years), while the other two seats are to fill appointed roles (June 2019 – May 2021, two years). Candidates are able to choose which of the two terms they prefer.

For more information on board responsibilities, requirements, and eligibility, click here.

The St. Charles Public Library District was established originally as the St. Charles Township Public Library in 1906. In 1979, the Township Library was converted by referendum to a Library District, an independent and autonomous unit of local government.

The Library is governed by an elected, seven-member Board of Trustees, which is responsible for the Library's finances and for the formulation of its policies. Trustees serve six-year terms. The Library Board meets regularly once a month, except August.

Board Meeting & Agenda

Calendar of Meeting Dates

Board Bylaws

Send email to the Library Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees: Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Statement

The Board appoints the Library Director, who is responsible for the administration of the Library. The Library has a departmental structure, with advisory teams established along general library functions. The heads of the departments report to the Director and supervise the staff and functions of their departments.

The St. Charles Library Board of Trustees:

Robert T. Gephart PresidentMay 2019 – May 2025
Karen L. KaluzsaVP/SecretaryMay 2017 – May 2023
Cynthia N. SteimleTreasurerMay 2017 – May 2023
Michael J. HillTrusteeMay 2021 – May 2027
Shane Hampton TrusteeMay 2019 – May 2025
Claudia FrostTrusteeMay 2021 – May 2027
Mary KruseTrusteeMay 2021 – May 2027

Board of Trustees Monthly Meetings

January 2022 through January 2023
Meetings held at:1 S. 6th Ave., St. Charles, IL 60174